1.5, A Day in the Life of a Fashion Intern-Fflur

“Things are going very well in the design area at the Karen Millen HQ. Most of the designers are away visiting factories and suppliers around the world, so we are making most of the quiet time to do some research and surf the web to spot up & coming trends!
To me, research is one of the most exciting and important aspects of the design process. You never know what you might stumble upon. And, if you manage to find strong images and inspiring pieces, they can keep you going for a long time, you can just develop and manipulate the ideas. I also love looking at the creations of new designers that are constantly being featured on fashion websites, it’s just so inspiring!
           
Recently, I have been working on my very first large scale repeat print. It’s a leaf print for a maxi dress. I must admit, it was a bit of a challenge as the print was so large, but I am glad to say that the disk has been posted to the factory and I can’t wait to see it come back printed on silk and georgette. I’m hoping that the colours will come out really rich, making the dress perfect for the summer time.

Karen Millen pattern ready for print

My project for today is a lace shirt. The black lace is extremely beautiful. It’s produced in special mills in France, I just hope I do it justice and emphasize its elegance. 

I’m looking forward to see the designers return with numerous stories from their visits to the suppliers and suitcases full of goodies, swatches and samples.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

